Dirty Dancing – The Musical

Happy Sunday guys,

I hope you all had a lovely weekend, I spent it chilling as I had a really busy week.

With having Pippa’s Fashion Factory on Sunday and then on Tuesday night my sister and I headed to the Bord Gais Theatre in Dublin to see Dirty Dancing – The Musical.

I am a massive Dirty Dancing fan, my favourite film of all time, I know it inside and out. I have watched it countless times and still never tire of it so I was really excited to see the musical.

The plot is almost exactly the same as the film, with a few extra scenes added in to change it up. The acting and dancing is brilliant. It is a little more theatrical than the film but it is theater so I had to tell myself stop comparing it to the film. Once I did that, I fell in love with the whole thing again, I got lost it. I even turned to my sister at one point and said I wish I was in my pj’s sitting watching this.

The music and the singing was superb, the cast selection is very true to the film so it doesn’t stray too far away. The dancing, ooooh! I would love someone to teach me the steps so I could dance like that too.

The audience was a complete mix, all ages, women and  men (even if the men were dragged along lol)

My stand out favourite moment from the show was that iconic line “Nobody puts Baby in the corner” , I have told everyone about this. You could literally feel the anticipation just before he said it, the audience sitting on the edge of their seats holding their breath, willing Johnny to say those 6 little words. The split second that he did, the whole place erupted in cheer and applause from the crowd. It was electric.

So if like me, you are a Dirty Dancing fan, I would highly recommend going to see this show. Especially if you weren’t able to go to the cinema to see the original when it was first released.

Has anyone seen it? I would love to know what you thought!

img_2135

Lots of Love

Laura

Xxxx

 

Leave a Reply

